Photographing the Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

As mentioned before, I did get the opportunity to shoot the Indy Grand Prix of Alabama yesterday. That included the Porsche 250 Grand Am Rolex Series race on Saturday, too. A full weekend. Very warm for April, but beautiful weather. Credentialed photographers had to be at a meeting in the Media Center at 7:30 am each morning to discuss safety issues and locations that are off-limits, etc. It was fun to see my photog friends Pete Collins and Jack Bains. Thanks, Jack, for letting me borrow your 300mm f/2.8 VR. I learned a few things. Like I still don’t like walking all over the motorsports park carrying several pounds of gear in the heat. And I still suck at shooting cars going 200 mph. But, if I shoot enough images I’m likely to get a few that do look good. And it sure is exciting to be just a few feet away from the howling engines, smell of burning rubber and fuel, some of the stars of racing and other celebrities, very fast action on the track and in the pits, standing right next to a three-foot guardrail when the cars scream by me ten or twenty feet away at 200+ mph, interesting people from all over the world, and capturing many of the details as I wander around the beautiful Barber Motorsports Park. I can’t wait until the next racing event to shoot!

~ by jeffreyrease on April 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
